Data security between Front-end and Back-end

I have already stated I am a WeWeb newbie. I am also, as we say in Canada, an “old fart” meaning I am as old as your grandfather. I have, however, a sharp mind. I last developed software at an enterprise level but not on the web and so security is a new issue.

On another discussion comparing Xano to Supabase, Comnoco and FasGen were discussed, and I have looked into Comnoco mostly. Their big selling point is keeping business and data knowledge on the backend as the front end is exposed through the user’s browser to attack.

My questions revolve around security and the following questions:

1. If we use TSL to encrypt communications between the front end and the back end, How secure or insecure are we?
  2. Using WeWeb and Supabase plugins, how much of the data and logic may be hackable on the browser?
  3. Would using something like Comnoco alleviate some or all security issues.
  4. As i asked about WeWeb and Supabase, Can Comnoco APIs be self-hosted so as to not be held hostage in the future.
  5. As Comnoco and others are subscriptions, do the APIs only reside on their servers and isn’t that just another place for things to slow down?
1 Like

Hi @Mage :wave:

As an introduction to security in web development, I’d recommend taking a look at this video from our Academy:

1 Like

Thanks Joyce.

I have been working my way through the academy.

Some hopefully constructive comments. Sometimes, I have to re-run a section numerous times to see where you clicked your mouse. On some videos, you use a mouse highlighter. This is useful but sometimes just verbally stating what you are doing helps. We are new to this.

I am still trying to ascertain what difference using the Rest API to connect with Supabase makes as opposed to using the Supabase API. Similar is Supabase Auth versus WeWeb Auth. We have been burned by Backendless with their price changes and need to feel like we can be independent and capable of self-hosting.