Create a dynamic page in WeWeb for a single record from Airtable

I am building my first WeWeb application with Airtable as a data source. I’ve been able to bind and display a list of collection items on a page, but I want to create pages that display single records without requiring the user to view the entire collection.

For example, I have a table in Airtable called Orders, and I want to create a page in WeWeb for Order Details including information like Order Name, Order Number, Order Total, etc. I want this WeWeb page to be located at domain.com/orders/{airtable_record_id}. I want users to be able to access these pages without needing to navigate through a collection page. I want the user to receive an email, click on a link, and view the page displaying the Airtable record’s data. But I cannot seems to figure out how to use parameters in a URL path to achieve this.

Note that I am not a software engineer, so this may be a basic concept for others, but for me it is unclear even after reviewing the WeWeb documentation. Any guidance would be appreciated.

1 Like

Hi @gary :wave:

Ok cool, this is completely doable :slight_smile:

The approach will be different depending on whether you’re using a static or dynamic collection.

Since it’s a list of orders and I’m guessing you can have thousands if not millions of orders and there’s no need for SEO, I would recommend creating a dynamic collection page.

Have you seen this video?

In that video, we show 2 approaches to dynamic collection pages, one with a variable, one with an API call. In your case, you’ll need to follow the API call approach.

Does that help?

@Joyce Thank you for your quick response and the video. I did watch the video previously before posting here, but since it’s referencing Xano (and I’m using the Airtable integration) I didn’t know if the approach would be the same. Should I be connecting to Airtable using the Airtable API or the WeWeb integration with Airtable?

1 Like

Aaaah ok, got it!