REST API for USPS CityStateLookup API

Hi everyone, I am brand new to WeWeb and the community, this is my first post. Thanks to the WeWeb team for creating this amazing tool and thanks to the community for having me.

I do not have any coding experience. I am trying to implement the United States Postal Service (USPS) CityStateLookup API. This API takes a 5-digit Zip code as input (along with a UserID) and returns the associated city and state. I am trying to implement this dynamically on a number input field, taking the number input by the user and passing that to the API. This is my first attempt at implemting a REST API in WeWeb.

The API documentation is here.

This is what I have so far in the WeWeb workflow editor. As you can see my request is making it through but I seem to be receiving an error response.

The full URL that I have in there is: https://secure.shippingapis.com/ShippingAPI.dll?API=CityStateLookup

I was able to get a successful response by entering the below into my browser, but I can’t figure out how to correctly set this up in WeWeb.

Any suggestions please? Thanks!

http://secure.shippingapis.com/ShippingAPI.dll?API=CityStateLookup
&XML=<CityStateLookupRequest USERID="xxxxxxx"><ZipCode ID= "0">
<Zip5>90210</Zip5></ZipCode></CityStateLookupRequest>

Hey @Dorian :wave:

Glad you like WeWeb!

From what I understand from the documentation, you should send the Zipcode and UserID inside the request as fields in an XML format.

To do this, you should first use a POST request type, as GET doesn’t accept fields (fields are sent differently to the API than querystrings, that are sent in the URL).

As WeWeb doesn’t handle XML natively, you should use a custom binding and use JavaScript string concatenation to replace Zip5 and UserID by your variables.

Also, I’ve noticed the API accept only requests from servers, not clients (like browsers).

In the end, it should look something like this:

Hope this helps!