Expanding content - Please help

Hi guys,

i’m very new to Weweb so everything is a learning curve, yesterday I managed to create an expanding/collapsable side menu which works okay. However, I’m trying to get the content outside of the side menu to expand to ‘fit’ the page when the side menu is collapsed. I’ve got some images below to help visually but if you have any questions let me know.

:slight_smile:

I’m assuming it would be a simple If variable, i.e. If the side menu is collapsed then expand? Apologies, my knowledge isn’t great so I wouldn’t know how to action this!

Hi @Newtothis :wave:

Nice design! Congrats on putting it together :slight_smile:

So yeah, you’ll be able to achieve the desired result by binding the width of the menu and content to a variable :slight_smile:

Check out this video, around the 3 minutes 40 seconds mark:

Hi @Joyce

thank you for the advice, i’ve tried this out and created a variable for both the content and header so I can bind them to expand when my side menu collapsed, however all of the div’s and columns within the content and header sections goes drastically out of size…

any advices?

Can you share a video or screenshots of what you attempted and the results you’re seeing?

Sorry, it’s all a bit of a mess as i’m playing around with it, I hope it makes sense…

It doesn’t unfortunately. I can only reproduce your use case and understand what’s going on if you show me how things look like in the editor. For example:

• what is the sidemenu container width bound to?
  • what is the main content section width bound to?
  • what does the workflow that expands the sidemenu look like?
  • what does each step in the workflow look like?
  • how is the width variable being updated and with what values?

I’d suggest a video that walks us through the project to make things easier. Anything that can help us understand how things are setup on your end and what might be going wrong.

Hi Joyce,