Creating a drag and drop function using custom code

Hi,

I’m new to WeWeb, so I’m still a bit confused on where to put what type of code etc., so I’m hoping you can help me out, since I can’t get it to work :slight_smile:

What I’m trying to do is add a drop and drag function using custom code (HTML, CSS & Javascript) to the drop down menu’s elements:

You should be able to drag the elements (card) to the drop-area

On the drop-area I want it to change from the card into the actual element e.g. a text box, that can also be drag around on the drop-area.

For context what I’m building is a project management software for creative professionals. So the idea is to have different elements like a text box, moodboard, mindmap, images etc., so that the users can set up what they need for each project.

You can try Kanban element, or you could use sortable.js, I’ve done a custom component for this. It’s not that simple tho. Kanban might work for you maybe though. But I think you’d need custom components for this.

Hi,

Thanks! I’ve tried using Kanban but it’s to simple for my need.
So I do need to use custom code - I’m just not sure where to put what type of code :slight_smile:

For now it’s not that simple to implement custom code into WeWeb. You can check some threads here in the forum via Search, but it’s not really as simple as pasting some code. I’m not sure what your background is. I’m still kinda not understanding your needs either, could you describe more/send some screens on how it is supposed to work?

(1/3)

Here’s some more screenshots, if that helps:

I want to add a drop and drag function using custom code (HTML, CSS & Javascript) to the drop down menu’s elements:

(2/3)

You should be able to drag the elements (card) to the drop-area:

(3/3)

On the drop-area I want it to change from the card into the actual element e.g. a text box, that can also be drag around on the drop-area: