Formatting Xano/Rest currency fields

Newbie here. I have figured out how to connect my Xano data base to a weweb collection. In it I have a field called cost, which is stored as a decimal. I have successfully linked it to a text field but I cannot for the life of me figure out how to now format it as $currency. How do you do this?

Welcome.

What currency do you want to format it as?

I live in USA. So, I created a custom function to convert an integer.

Here is how you can do it:

1. Click on the data tab in the tool bar Screen Shot 2022-04-23 at 11.19.48 PM

2. Click on +Add Formula

3. name the formula. I used toCurrency

4. add 1 parameter, name it whatever you want (I used ā€œitemā€), and select number from the drop down.

5. in the function box, you will want to use something like below. The below code is JS that will take the incoming parameter, and apply the toLocaleString() Js function to it and return that.

return "$" + item.toLocaleString("en-US", {
    style: 'currency',
    currency: 'USD'
});

There are all types of different options in the toLocaleString, so google that and youā€™ll find your country.

Once you have that done, now you can use the function anywhere in your site.

Go to the text that you currently have bound to your database. Click on the functions area (see image below), scroll down, and click on Custom.

This will show your custom function.

Use that, and put your decimal database value into there. It will return your currency.

3 Likes

OKā€¦I think I get it, though I thought the whole point of this was nocodeā€¦
But when I try it I get an error.
Hereā€™s my formula entry which seemed to go well:

Appreciate your help!

And here is my attempt at using it, which is returning an ā€œunexpected identifierā€

Hmm. That looks good. Can you take out the item[ā€˜dataā€™][ā€˜cpuā€™] and just put in a number.

try toCurrency(25)

Does that work?